Arduino Lighthack for Softkeys

Hi all, I'm trying to modify the Lighthack code on the ETCLabs Github page to make some physical softkeys, and use the display to label them. I'm pretty new to arduino but have some programming knowledge from doing engineering at uni (mainly Matlab). I'm getting hung up on parsing the OSC messages from the console. The original code is:

void parsePanUpdate(OSCMessage& msg, int addressOffset)
{
panWheel.pos = msg.getOSCData(0)->getFloat();
updateDisplay = true;
}

The softkey labels are strings not floats, and I'm not sure how to go about adapting this code, to put the softkey label into a string. I'm not using the encoder structs, just simply strings, which are global vars, to store the labels, which get printed to the LCD display.

There is a getString method, but I'm not sure how to go about using it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Parents
  • Here a small code snippet for parsing string data, instead of the Pan/Tilt Update:

String data;

void parseData(OSCMessage& msg, int addressOffset) {
      char txt[128];
      int length = msg.getDataLength(0);
      msg.getString(0, txt, length);
      data = String(txt);
      displayStatus = true;
      }

• The above will crash out if the string is longer than 128 characters (including terminating null)
    Better:
    void parseData(OSCMessage& msg, int addressOffset) {
    char txt[128];
    int length = msg.getDataLength(0);
    if (length > 128) length = 128;
    msg.getString(0, txt, length);
    data = String(txt);
    displayStatus = true;
    }

(The limit might be 127 instead of 128, I forget whether msg.getString() adds a terminating null or not)