Effects and Magic Sheet for live adjustments

Hello,

let me start by saying that I'm an amateur, so my question might easily be down to me not using the console right. Also, there might be a better way to organize things and I would be more then happy to hear advice on this.

I often volunteer in a community/amateur theatre which uses an ETC Element 40. We are mostly doing theatre, so most of my experience with the console comes from shows which are best run as a sequence of cues. What I'm not so comfortable with is the one show that works a little bit different:

We're doing a show where several local artists are invited to perform on stage and will go through a small interview about their work. This can be everything from bands, solo musicians, dance numbers, acrobatics, magicians, spoken word... you get it. The host will usually roughly follow a fixed plan, so we know in which order artists will perform and so on, but we still need to be flexible and don't want to use a fixed cue list.

What we do is that we have several lighting situations on submasters, so there is a certain look for each artist and for the interview situations, for people entering the stage etc. which we can quickly access using the faders if we need it.
We then add effects and extras based on the base look we are currently in.

In particular, all the base looks contain lights on the back wall and we prepared a bunch of effects which can run on these while bands perform.
Currently, these effects are also on effect subs and we can activate the effect using the push button and control the speed with the fader.
As it is almost impossible to get the effect in sync with the music using the fader (and it often looks really terrible if it doesn't match) I also included a button in our magic sheet which activates the "tap to bpm"-macro and allows me to match the effects to the music.