Express RFU Not Powering On

Hi all!

I'm a middle school student who is essentially our "lighting operator" if you will. We have an older Express 48/96 unit that seems to have no issues. We found our old RFU unit that nobody has used in about two years. While the teacher said it was broken, I found out the RFU port on the board had been disconnected from the cable running to the backstage node. I reconnected it thinking it would fix the issues. Turns out it did not. I've come here since i've tried everything I can think of, including:

1) Directly plugging into the board

2) Making sure the power switch is on

3) Booting everything in the proper order (board first, then RFU)

Anybody know anything I can do? I myself can't send it in for repair and I don't think the district wants to pay for it.

Thanks!

EDIT: fixed typo ;)

Parents
  • The problem that I have had in the past is that the wire has been pulled so that the connection to the RFU is not solid. Many times the RFUs get treated roughly. The RFUs will be lowered by their cable or hung from their cable so that the weight of the unit is pulling on the cable. Or the cable will be bent sharply. If you get this working again, be nice to your RFU as someone before you obviously wasn't.

IMPORTANT, I recommend calling ETC Tech Support and getting their help in troubleshooting the possible connection issues.
    1st, get your teacher involved. The RFU isn't working, but you don't want to make it worse and be blamed.
    In the US, Tech Support can be reached at (800) 688-4116.