Life after Expression 3...to the Congo we go!

Hello everyone, first post!

I studied lighting in college in the late 90'sand got work in a venue for the last 10 years, pretty much only using the Expression 3. Now our venue is getting a full upgrade and our brand new ETC Congo Jr showed up today.

Well you guys can guess, things have been a bit rusty for me, I got used to the "Yoda" syntax ok, but what tripped me up worst is the lack of a release button. It is second nature to use that in the E3, and I have not yet found an equivalent on the Cjr.

Of course I have a new show to program with only less than a day behind the board, so any tips or tricks would really help me out. I work in a small community venue, so I have relied of my submasters a lot to quickly program lights since we have a new show almost every day with pretty much no turnaround.

My Cjr came with a master playback wing, and dont even get my started on that one...cuz it also works differently than I expected.

Anyways, thanks and any tips and tricks would be awesome.

Parents
  • Hi there -

If you would like to work in Capture/Release mode, look at your console keypad and look up and to the right from the 9 key - there are two keys CAPTURE and RELEASE. Double-tap CAPTURE and level setting will feel pretty much exactly like your Expression. RELEASE is right below CAPTURE and works the way you think it should. :-)

One big difference between Expression and Congo, though, is that the last thing you record is played back - in other words, you are always IN the last cue (Preset, in Congo speak) you recorded. In Expression, you sit in the last cue you played back, leading to a lot of RECORD GO RELEASE action. I also switched from heavy Expression usage to Congo and except for certain situations I don't use Capture anymore, mainly because it ends up just adding key presses to my programming, which takes up time. In time you might find you don't need to release channels all the time. :-)