Life after Expression 3...to the Congo we go!

Hello everyone, first post!

I studied lighting in college in the late 90'sand got work in a venue for the last 10 years, pretty much only using the Expression 3. Now our venue is getting a full upgrade and our brand new ETC Congo Jr showed up today.

Well you guys can guess, things have been a bit rusty for me, I got used to the "Yoda" syntax ok, but what tripped me up worst is the lack of a release button. It is second nature to use that in the E3, and I have not yet found an equivalent on the Cjr.

Of course I have a new show to program with only less than a day behind the board, so any tips or tricks would really help me out. I work in a small community venue, so I have relied of my submasters a lot to quickly program lights since we have a new show almost every day with pretty much no turnaround.

My Cjr came with a master playback wing, and dont even get my started on that one...cuz it also works differently than I expected.

Anyways, thanks and any tips and tricks would be awesome.

• For chases you should look into the effects engine. (Tutorials are at the top of the forum)
    If you want more Sequences you can press SEQ, then # insert e voila there is a new seq. For a "old-style" chase, whilst focused on the SEQ-list window press the wizzard button. You will see a window pop up where you can build basic chases.

Another way of building more complex chase is to record a SEQ to a Master:

1. Build the look for the first step in live
    2. Press+Hold Record + MasterKey
    3. Choose record SEQ
    4. repeat 1+2 till you have all the steps you need
    5. In the SEQ-list window change Type to Chase
    6. Change times as described in my last post

Hope that helps...

• Things have been going well, I have a music festival coming up and I am feeling pretty confident on the board now.

So final question ( I promise)....lets say I want 3 sequences...sequence 1 will be my regular conventional presets