LED Screen control with an Ion?

So my theatre has a quarter of a million dollar LED screen that fits then entire back wall of our stage. We use a computer to controlling with software. I heard the Ion has the capibility to control a screen like that.                       Is this possible to do And can I program fade times and record them into my show while controlling the lights as well by just hitting "Go"?

Parents
  • The computer is what's known as a media server. I'm not an expert on media servers but I will share what I know.

A computer just running Windows Media Player onto your screen isn't going to do it. It needs to be running media server software. Think of the media server as a moving light. You address it, you set the mode, and you run a network cable to it. Then you can control it with your ML controls. Set the "look" and record it into a cue along with all your lights.

Let's say the computer is running Mbox Studio 4.0 for example. That software accepts SACN and Art-Net input. So you would run ethernet cables from your Ion to the media server. Then you patch it in the patch tab, using "search", "type", "at", etc. just like patching a moving light. You would probably use one channel for a master and other channels for layers.

For example,
    201 {type} Mbox Studio v.4.0 Global Master [at] 3/1 enter
    202 {type} Mbox Studio v.4.0 Layer Base [at] 3/6 enter

In live, you can record Cue 1 with no lights on and no video playback. Then turn on some lights. Go into the ML tab and play back some video using the channel you patched as your layer channel. (Read the media server software manual). Now record this as Cue 2. When you are in Cue 1, pressing Go will turn on your lights and start video playback at the same time.

If you have more questions, keep posting in this thread. Odds are someone will read this who has more experience and will be able to answer your questions better than I can.