Triggering A console over Midi

How can I trigger my Express over midi? I have an mBox, and protools, can i make a click track to trigger? Will it be the same thing on an Element?

Thanks

Parents
  • We used to do this with our Obession II, although it should be the same process as with the Express and Element.

What we would do is create a midi track and run the audio track once while recording the midi output of the light console, then we would swap the midi cabling so that we could play back the midi that we recorded.

I'm no protools expert, but my sound guy was able to show me how to view the midi track we created and move the msc triggers around on the track to fine tune cue placement.  I think there is a way to create show control triggers without recording them off the console, but the designer I was working with wanted to do it this way.

Just make sure you don't run midi from the console to protools and back again, it'll create a midi feedback loop.

• Here has been my experience with midi and lighting control consoles.  The control consoles like to see Midi Show Control.  This is a stripped down version of the midi string.  Not in all but in most cases you will need some midi translator to accomplish this translation.  ETC expression/express line is not looking at the full midi string.  I do not remember exactly but I believe it is looking at the end of the midi string. 

Hope this Helps

P-

• I'm afraid that you've misunderstood a few things there.

MIDI Show Control (MSC) isn't 'stripped down', and it's nothing to do with the start or end of a MIDI string.

Original 'General' MIDI provided two things: Notes and Controllers.

• MIDI Notes give commands like "Play Note X at Velocity Y" and "Stop Note X"
      • Play Note defines which key on your keyboard you pressed
      • Velocity says how hard you hit the key on your piano keyboard (usually volume)
      • 'Stop' says when you released the key