Changing Master Fader Causes Focus Points to Change Values

I am new to MLs and only just yesterday installed and configured my first two MLs being controlled by an Express 24/48 console.  As a first attempt (thinking this was the best way to do it??) I saved several "looks" as Focus Points.  Then, I saved each Focus Point into Cues so that I could call the Cue and the ML would display the "look" that was saved as a Focus Point.  This method worked fine until I moved the Master Fader.  As the Master Fader changed it's value, all the values on the Fixture that was recalled as a Focus Point also changed their values.  (Many of you are saying "Duh!  right now...  :) 

Question:  Is there a way to force Focus Points to be "static" so that their values don't change (independent of the Master Fader)

OR:  Is there another way to accomplish what I am trying to do?  Which is: Save a "look" from a ML Fixture so that it can be recalled in a Cue AND have that look be static.

Thanks,

Dave Williams

Parents
  • If you have the fixtures patched outside of  the ML fixture patch: You may also want to try setting the parameters you don't want changing on GM fades (usually everything but the dimmer channel) to "independent" on your movers -  This is done in Setup>Channel Attributes as well. It won't change the way each of the focus points are handled, just those channels - but that's what you want, right? You'd need to do this for every non-dimmer channel of every fixture affected.

If you have the fixtures patched with the ML fixture patch: You could always edit and reload the fixture's personality, offline - I think "Independent" is a stored attribute for each channel (using a checkbox, if memory serves). Repatch the new personality once that's done and that should sort it out for all fixtures, I think.

Good luck,

Jonathan

• Thanks for the replies Sarah and Jonathan,