Need help - Newbie

Greetings All,

I am not a lighting professional. I a computer programmer by trade, and a audio/video hobbits. I volunteer at my church to run our lighting system. By watching the tutorials and reading the books I’ve learned how to run the SmartFader ML for our purposes. We currently have 4 Intelligent lights (Elation Spot 250’s), 10 LED color mixing lights, and 20 standard PARS and such. We are portable church that sets up and tears down every week.

Here is my question…

We are moving into a new facility that has existing lighting. It is a theater with approximately 200 standard lights (meaning no moving, intelligent, or color mixing). They currently have an ETC Express board in the control room. I see a cat5 cable and 2 DMX cables plugged into the back.

What I want to know is, what is the best way to user their lights and our lights together? Ideally I’m wondering if it is possible to simply use the DMX out from the Express board into the SFML board and patch their lights with ours? It appears most of their lights are connected via Ethernet to the board so I assume I need to use the board (or some other ETC device) to convert the Ethernet to DMX for the SFML to use.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions you have.

Parents
  • Hi there -

The Ethernet cable you see coming from the Express console is probably only connecting to a remote video interface, however it's possible its connecting to some DMX distribution equipment as well. Since the Express supports two universes of DMX output, and you say there are two DMX cables plugged into the back of the console, this leads me to believe the Ethernet is not distributing any show data.