Live conventional + moving light control

Hello,

Another question for the forum.

I'm new to the SFML and to the world of moving lights.

Would like to be able to control both conventional lights and moving lights (pan & tilt for follow spot) live - at the same time.

Contact at ETC says that's not possible on this board.

Installing engineer says it is - but hasn't had time to explain.

I can get them all to work at the same time (to a set/final cue), but I don't have LIVE pan&tilt (as in using the moving light as a follow spot) without going to the device sel - and then I lose conventional light control.

I've tried to patch the independents to the pan (ind1) & tilt (ind2) dmx addresses.  No luck.  Unless I'm not doing something right.

I'm working with a High End Studio Spot 250.  FYI - it actually has 2 addresses each for pan and tilt: fine & coarse.

Is midi the answer?

Or can it not be done without a separate controller & separate DMX run from the moving light?

I would much appreciate any suggestions!

Here's hoping!

Parents
  • Hi there -

Changing the select buttons to Device Select should not keep you from controlling your conventionals on your faders. You should be able to use the encoders to control your pan/tilt while the faders are set to Mems or to Int A/B to control your conventionals. What you can't do is have your faders mapped to parameter control for your movers while also controlling your conventional dimmers. Make sense?

Mapping P/T to your independents is a bad idea. :-)

I hope this helps -

Thanks!

Sarah