Unique MIDI Question

I am a Sound Engineer for a band, that is attempting to learn how to really tap into the features of the Smartfade ML.  Since I am a Nube . . . can you tell me if something is possible, and how I might go about setting this up?

What I want to do is link our Digital Performer setup with the Smartfade ML..  Our band uses backing tracks and a click when we perform, and I would like the Smartfade ML board to slave off of the Digital Performer unit.  I would like to create unique lighting stacks for each song, and have them load and start playing when the DP controller presses play . . . 

First off . . . is this possible?

If so, what sort of Hardware setup would I need?  Currently, our DP laptop is feeding a USB MOTU Midi distribution card with 4 outputs,

(1) is feeding a Triton Synth Rack,

(2) is feeding a Roland JV 880 synth,

(3) is feeding a TC Elec. M-One Effects and

(4) is feeding another TC M-One XL Effects unit. 

Can I route Midi thru the Smartfade board and then to one of the Effects Units?

Not very familiar with Midi in relation to machine control . . .

Thanks for any insight into this!

Parents
  • Sounds like you have hardware that would work... but just not enough of it.  You can't do MIDI Thru on SmartFade; the ports are strictly an in and an out.  So you would need an additional MIDI interface, or you need to chain together other devices that have a Thru port.

I've used MIDI control from a laptop with SmartFade myself, and it's pretty straightforward once we actually figured it all out.  We use a TASCAM USB-MIDI interface and Cubase software to send the MIDI track to our SmartFade.  We use the Program Change commands to run the stack.