Unique MIDI Question

I am a Sound Engineer for a band, that is attempting to learn how to really tap into the features of the Smartfade ML.  Since I am a Nube . . . can you tell me if something is possible, and how I might go about setting this up?

What I want to do is link our Digital Performer setup with the Smartfade ML..  Our band uses backing tracks and a click when we perform, and I would like the Smartfade ML board to slave off of the Digital Performer unit.  I would like to create unique lighting stacks for each song, and have them load and start playing when the DP controller presses play . . . 

First off . . . is this possible?

If so, what sort of Hardware setup would I need?  Currently, our DP laptop is feeding a USB MOTU Midi distribution card with 4 outputs,

(1) is feeding a Triton Synth Rack,

(2) is feeding a Roland JV 880 synth,

(3) is feeding a TC Elec. M-One Effects and

(4) is feeding another TC M-One XL Effects unit. 

Can I route Midi thru the Smartfade board and then to one of the Effects Units?

Not very familiar with Midi in relation to machine control . . .

Thanks for any insight into this!

Parents
  • Just took out the rig over the weekend, and I discovered that the console is not the Smartfade ML . . . it is the Smartfade 1248 . . . does the same Midi configuration work with this console?

Also, can this board control DMX Scanners? 

Thanks!

• Yes, the MIDI configuration should be the same, but some commands may be different.  I've only used MIDI on a 1248, actually.

Sure, you can control DMX Scanners -- it's just not as easy as with the SFML.  You'll just use one channel for pan, one for tilt, etc.  Programming can be a bit confusing due to the HTP nature of the console, but as long as you understand that, it's not too hard to get by.

• Are there any tutorials or videos on how to configure & program shows for Midi control on the Smartfade?