Unique MIDI Question

I am a Sound Engineer for a band, that is attempting to learn how to really tap into the features of the Smartfade ML.  Since I am a Nube . . . can you tell me if something is possible, and how I might go about setting this up?

What I want to do is link our Digital Performer setup with the Smartfade ML..  Our band uses backing tracks and a click when we perform, and I would like the Smartfade ML board to slave off of the Digital Performer unit.  I would like to create unique lighting stacks for each song, and have them load and start playing when the DP controller presses play . . . 

First off . . . is this possible?

If so, what sort of Hardware setup would I need?  Currently, our DP laptop is feeding a USB MOTU Midi distribution card with 4 outputs,

(1) is feeding a Triton Synth Rack,

(2) is feeding a Roland JV 880 synth,

(3) is feeding a TC Elec. M-One Effects and

(4) is feeding another TC M-One XL Effects unit. 

Can I route Midi thru the Smartfade board and then to one of the Effects Units?

Not very familiar with Midi in relation to machine control . . .

Thanks for any insight into this!

Parents
  • I'm not sure that I can offer a lot of help, I have an Ion not a Smartfade, but I wanted to encourage you to keep working at it.

I have a desktop in the control booth running SFX which sends midi controls much like DP does and after a couple of hours of hacking away at it (the SFX manual is pretty underwhelming) I finally got it connected to my Ion console. With the Ion I set up the light cues for a play and in SFX I could add instructions to run those cues as well as the audio cues. So the entire show could be run with one button. I even programmed my fancy USB remote so that it could initiate the next cue in the software and I could run the show backwards and forwards from anywhere in the facility.