Smartfade ML - Unusual Request

Hello,

This request will be a bit unusual from the normal.  My background is relatively technical in nature and having access to the source code for the SmartfadeML would make what I want to do much easier.

We have several moving lights in my setup.  Unfortunately, they are a bit awkward to control, and especially to be able to do things such as tracking people around on stage, or having good/intuitive control of the lights.

What I am intend to do is develop an application where I take a map of the stage/room the lights are in, map relevant coordinates of the lights (corresponding to 0-100 on the two axis controls) onto this map, and provide some way to translate selected location on the map to the dmx universe.  The external application would allow a user to control the location the moving lights are aimed via a mouse or touch screen interface.  There would naturally be many behind the scenes calculations and conversions, in addition to the mouse/touch screen interactions. 

I would rather not have to purchase an external usb-to-dmx converter just for this purpose.  Considering I am already using the SmartfadeML board, I was wondering if it's possible to get access to the source code for the SmartfadeML app - this program obviously talks with the board in such a way I would be able to integrate my program.  Or some equivalent utility to let me communicate with the board and control the dmx outputs It would make what I intend to do significantly easier.  Is there something external to the main Smartfade ML software which can communicate with it, and tell it which dmx signals to send?

Please let me know if this is feasible or if you need more information from me.  I realize this is a rather non-standard request, but am not sure if there is another forum more applicable. 

I am also able to discuss via email or phone if this would be preferable.

Thanks in advance,

Alden

Parents
  • Hi Alden,