Can't patch more than 5 dimmers on a channel

I am brand new to ETC. Coming from Leprecon. On my Smartfade 2496, I tried patching by Channel and after adding 5 dimmers, turning the wheel advances right. Hitting OK changes input to the Channel.  Can more than 5 dimmers be added?  Am I missing a button press or something?  

I am on FIrmware 1.7

Parents
  • Hi there -

You should be able to patch as many dimmers as you like to any channel, however you may need to us the patch by dimmer mode to do it. Please give that a try. Also, your software is quite old, and you may want to update to the current version  - v3.1.1. Please take a look here for the user manual and software - some things have changed a lot in the meantime, so you may want to look at the manual before you take the plunge and update your console.

Thanks much -

Sarah

• I can confirm that the limitation or bug is still there in the latest firmware available on the website which is v3.0.2.9.0.43 available here:

http://www.etcconnect.com/product.downloads.aspx?ID=20014

However in this firmware, the maximum allowed is 4. This is disappointing.

However, I *CAN* patch more than that using Patch By Dimmer as you suggest.  Is there a place to report Firmware bugs? 

• Hi,

There is no limitation. However, because of the display layout, it might not be obvious how to have more than 4 items since you can only see four of them at a time.

On the bottom line of the display, there are 5 entry fields that you step through by pressing the OK (checkmark) button. The first 4 fields are for dimmer number entries. The 5 field (at the far right side of the display) is a scroll field for scrolling left or right if you want to patch more than 4 dimmers to the same channel.