Howto for this job?

I'm fairly new to Catalyst so I want to know what your opinions are for this job and how you would approach running it?

The stage backdrop will be a Med/High res SoftLED drape, this is one output. There will also be varoius Barco led elements at different positions built into the set. Graphics have been prepared as one group of media files for the SoftLED and another three groups for the three outputs for the LED modules.

Essentially, the three LED modules will for this job act as a seamless blend (the way the graphics have been prepared - 16:9 PAL DV).

For some shows, all screens need to play back media in sync from either a external TC source or manually triggered (can I trigger different outputs/interfaces cues at the same time?) And in other shows, media will just be shown in a random fashion determined by the operator.

What I want to know is will two seperate cat units (both using dual outputs) be able to have cues triggered by the one go button? I'm a broadcast guy and am only just starting to get into cat and my knowledge of DMX programming isn't the best right now.

Also, how would you pro's handle this job? I have gone the path of Cat/Media server because we have just bought it and it's about time to embrace it as Encore is overkill for this job and media managment is a pain. Anyone that has any tips for catalyst use SoftLED please chime in - i'm interested on your thoughts!

Any help you can provide would be great. I'm looking forward to working with catalyst. Future is bright indeed (even if we are late to embrace it!)

Thanks! :)
Parents
  • [quote=kaptivate_ag]
    ...our production gear is 16:9 as we have made the full transition to HD...
    ...there is no need for anything near HD quality...