Which Dimmer to Which Theatre?!?!

Hiya,

I'm new to my surrounding theatre and the Director never paid attention during install last winter to answer my questions. I'm the Volunteer Tech assistant, now Master Electrician, cause I kept fixing stuff. We have 2 Sensor+ Racks serving our 2 Theatres. Our Large Theatre has an Ion Board with RFR and 113 Physical Dimmer Circuits wired so they balence their load between the 3 phases and both Dimmer Racks. Small Theatre has a Strand board and 36? Channels (don't use Small Theatre myself) wired same as Large Theatre.

I have fast fingers and turn on channels in the Small Theatre while working in Large Theatre using the RFR.  I don't have access to the Small Theatre light board to turn them off. I don't think it would help anyways (Highest Takes Precidents would take place, correct?) I've been leaving them on until I'm done for awhile and using syntax "113 thru 3000 @ out 'enter' " to turn them off.

How to find the 'channel numbers' for the Small Theatre to be entered in the Large Theatre's Ion Light Board?

Thanks in advance for the help!!

BTW: It might take a few times to get it right, I'm busy learning the Light, Sound, AND Video systems while attempting to un-cluster-muck them.

Parents
  • HI jhamil.

Sounds like the Strand console is speaking DMX to the dimmers, and the ION is on the network (if it has control of the small theatre as well). There are a number of things that could be playing here to enabled or disable access to dimmers on the small theatre depending on how the system data wiring was run, and what configuration was setup in the dimmer racks. I would recommend the simple path of narrowing it down the range with the console unless you have access to the racks configuration. E.g.

Run the console 1000-2000. @ full. If the small theatre comes up.. your closer. Go to 1000-1500.... and narrow it down.