Laptop Config Ideas?

Hello!

I'm a new field service tech and we're looking into what the best bet for a field service laptop would be and was wondering if anyone would be willing to share their ideas for a new production laptop that either has an expresscard slot, or a native serial port. Price is always a concern, but I was wondering what other folks are using in this day and age. 

Thanks in advance!

-Jason

• Hi Jason,

At the bottom is what ETC recommend.

I have both a USB to Serial adapter and a Dell port extender which has serial on and both work But the one thing to watchout for is the OS. When working on older systems the latest versions of Windows can cause issues. I have go round some of these by using a Virtual machine but this causes more issues when using a USB to serial or the port extender which have to be overcome. All possible but takes a little bit of setting up.

I personally have the Dell E7440 which doesn't have a separate graphics card we recommend which means drawings are a little slow to open and work with but its a lot lighter. Still runs all the software fine.

The other laptop which does meet the requirement we use is the Dell E5570.

Tom

Laptop preferences: One of the following operating systems installed

• Windows XP 32-bit Professional • Windows 7 32-bit Professional, Enterprise and Ultimate • Windows 8 32-bit Professional or Enterprise

• Preferred screen resolution of 1600x900 or 1920 x 1080

• 4 GB RAM (8 GB recommended)

• Ethernet Adapter

• Graphics card with OpenGL Support and 2GB of on-board memory

• Serial port, native preferred, but technicians may use a USB to serial adapter

• DVD Drive (optional)

• Floppy disk drive (internal or external), only required if working with older consoles and older Unison systems