Submaster will not record channels

Total newbie here who stepped into volunteer lighting role at local theater.  Element 2 board and zero training.  I had success creating a new submaster for all the lights with red gels, following the prompts on the shortcut sheet.  Now, I need to create another submaster with about 20 channels set at different levels for a particular show.  I have tried following the steps I used for the red submaster, but cannot get the board to remember the channels at all.  I have tried setting the channels in live individually, then recording to submaster and then as the command  line instructs, re-entering each channel @ intensity. I also tried just doing direct input by typing the channels and intensities into the command line. I saved the settings to the submaster and labeled it; it shows up on the fader page and when I move the fader the percentage goes up and down, but the actual lights never come on.  Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Parents