Help! Concert tonight.

Hello everyone. I just became a member, although I should have joined years ago.

Long story short:

I am a part time lighting/audio tech for a local high school. (They are too cheap to hire someone full time) Anyway I use my free time to assist the school district with running their auditorium. My main strength is in audio. That is where the problem lies.

A couple of weeks ago I set up a show for a local group to perform in the auditorium, I could not be present because of a prior engagement. Well, the lights were working fine when I left. So, last night I go to the auditoirum to focus the lights and record some cues for tonight's concert. And now the lights are not working properly.

Some Channels don't dim at all. When I start fading the lights in, the computer control will show about 7% on the corresponding channel and the dimmer will turn the actual lights from 0% to 100% instantly. As it continues to fade up, it does nothing because the lights are already on full. The same thing happens in reverse when trying to fade the lights out - fading does nothing from 100% down to 7% then the lights go completely off after passing 7%. This only happens when using a light cue. If I use the fader on the board the lights fade up and down.

The question:

Is this a dimmer issue or did the guy from a couple of weeks ago mess up the settings on the board? And if he did, how do I reset it back to normal.

Thanks!

Parents
  • Sorry, equipment used is an ETC Express 48/96
  • Hi there -

Is it possible to be in front of the console and be on the phone at the same time? Without seeing your console it is hard to determine what's going on. I would highly recommend contacting technical services by phone when you are near the console so that you can troubleshoot the system with an expert. Please call 800-688-4116 as soon as you can...

Thanks -

Sarah