#lighthack & Mac OS X?

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the Arduino scene and eager to learn.  I've been on the EOS platform for several years.  

I'm wondering what it would take to get the #lighthack to work with Mac OS X?  

I'm happy to learn and figure things out if I know what direction to start my search in. I'm also happy to share what I come up with.  

Thanks much in advance for your assistance!

-Chris

• Chris,
    It is in the works but no hard date as I understand it. It is not something that the community can hack their way around. It has to be implemented in the Nomad software. Hang in there a bit longer. :)
  • In reply to Druuka:

You would need an ethernet shield and a completely different sketch. So basically a whole new project :-)
  • In reply to JasonPerry:

Ethernet based Arduino OSC projects are much more complicated because you have to setup the device to work on a specific network with a specific console IP etc along with setting up all the encoder/fader/button stuff to transmit.
  • In reply to Druuka:

That is true, I'm not saying its as easy or as elegant but at the moment its the only way to make it work on a MAC. Somewhere I have a few scripts from back in the day when I was ultra nerding out on OSC before USB was possible...
  • In reply to JasonPerry:

I also have several sketches for this. I still use ethernet based OSC for distant remote devices. It allows for accessory interfaces to be anywhere in the building easily. One of my favorites is local Intensity and Iris or Zoom when using a moving light as a follow spot.
  • Hi All,

Does anyone have an idea of a timescale for when Mac OSC USB support will be added ?

For a project in a couple of months I would like to use my new Lighthack Encoder Wing with a Mac based Nomad system the company use.

Obviously I will look down either a Bootcamp or alternative hardware route if it isn't enabled by then, but wondering if there are any murmurings from Wisconsin .... ?