OSC input blocks/resets command line

I'm fairly new to ETC's EOS family and discovered it while looking for a professional lighting software that can be integrated into more complex systems. EOS' support for OSC is fantastic, much more versatile and complete than anything else. So I've bought an unlimited Nomad version and am very happy so far.

While still figuring everything out, I ran into one issue though: OSC input keeps on resetting the command line - especially problematic if there is continuous input. Practically rendering EOS unusable. It doesn't crash or freeze, I just can't operate it anymore.

(If an example is needed, let's assume stage performers' are tracked via sensors and third software, i.e. max/msp. The later calculates a brightness depending on the performers' position. This brightness is beamed over to EOS, setting eos/chan/1/param/Intens permanently. Then my command line becomes unusable.)

Is there maybe a way to switch EOS' OSC-interpretation into some sort of background mode? Not interfering with the command line?

• (Using EOS 3.1.0 build 282 on a Windows 10 notebook btw.)

• You can send osc commands as a different user which will free up the command line.  User 0 is "background". It sounds like you are running the levels in manual mode which could become problematic if you want to mix other playback options in as well.  I would suggest changing the intensity control to a submaster with just the intensity for the specific channel recorded into it. If you open tab 100(the manual) in the software there is a show control section that details more of the osc syntax that will help you make the system run the way you want.

Hope this helps.

• It does help, and thanks for replying so quickly!
    eos/user/0.. solved it.

i did test submasters via OSC, working fine, yet i don't understand the benefit. setting levels via
    eos/chan/1
    compared to
    /eos/sub/1 (which is assigned to channel 1's level)