Beginner with an Express 48/96

I've been asked to run the lights for our schools first production.  I have scanned through the manual, but it was of little help in actually understanding how to plan, program, or setup the system for a production.  I have looked through the countless forum posts as well.

I have no experience with lighting controls, but I have figured out how to turn it on!  Actually I have gotten a little further than that, but I would like to attempt to use the system we have as it was intended instead of just manually turning lights on and off.  Am I biting off more than I can chew?

If anyone can suggest some basic reading material or offer some simple getting started suggestions it would be greatly appreciated!  I do not know all of the terminology so please keep it simple.  I do better with hands on so I hope to catch on quickly.  As I said this is the schools first production and there is no one else here that knows anything about the system.

Let the show begin!

Joe

• Hi Joe,

Welcome to the world of lighting, theatre, and production! Isn't it great! :) Anyways, what sort of things are you looking for more specifically. Writing cues (to create looks on stages), bring up lights on stage, patching dimmers to channels, etc.?

I found this quick guide online...this should help tremendously...

http://www.etcconnect.com/docs/docs_downloads/manuals/Express_v3.1_Quick_Guide.pdf

This is a lot easier of a read then the manual, because it only goes into what you need to know.

You have two ways of bringing up channels, either through channels, which are patched to dimmers, which power and dim the lights with your faders or through the keypad with the simple syntax of [1] [at] [Full] [Enter].