ETC Nomad Setup for dummies

Hello,

I purchased Nomad system for my school and I need to set it up. However, there seems to be nothing that actually sets up a step by step set up process. the tutorials don't seem to be specifically about the Nomad or Gadget II they just talk about specific systems. Can anyone point me to something that is meant for people just starting with this? 

Thanks

• I am a tech-head type of guy.  I've programmed machine language to make a '286 control servo motors through the parallel port.  I've used more traditional lighting boards since the 80's, and used basic robotic lighting fixtures.  It shouldn't be this hard for me to get started. As I wrote earlier, even super basic stuff for any program such as getting the documentation, or figuring out how to close the Nomad program, is a major challenge and requires direct help from someone who knows the program already.

I come from an age when a home computer came with manuals that stacked 6" high.  That age is gone, and it is a rarity to see good documentation.   Nomad may be the easiest lighting program to get started on, but I think that is a testimony to how bad the other ones are, rather than ETCs good documentation.

• Hi Joe - I'm sorry to hear that your experience with Eos and Nomad have been frustrating.

As you and others have described here, Eos installed on a computer feels like the console software detached from hardware - because it is. Eos is top-tier control that operates some of the biggest and most complicated shows in the world. Installed on a computer, we also call it "Eos offline," because the folks who work on these shows use it to edit files when not in the theater / on set. They know the console extremely well, so the software makes sense to them with keyboard shortcuts that fill in for a dedicated face panel.